PGA Tour docks Cameron Smith 2 shots for bad drop in third round of FedEx St. Jude Championship – ESPN

PGA Tour docks Cameron Smith 2 shots for bad drop in third round of FedEx St.  Jude Championship - ESPN

Cameron Smithwho is trying to become the No. 1 ranked golfer in the world and is reportedly set to join the rival LIV Golf series, was assessed a 2-stroke penalty before the start of Sunday’s final round of the FedEx St. TPC Southwind in Memphis, Tennessee.

According to a statement from the PGA Tour, Smith played his ball from the improper spot on the fourth hole during Saturday’s third round. The tour said Smith “was assessed a two-stroke penalty for a violation of Rule 14.7. [playing ball from the wrong spot].”

Smith, winner of the 150th Open Championship at St. Andrews last month, took a drop in the wrong place after hitting his ball into the water on the par-3 fourth hole.

Smith carded a 3-under 67 and was 2 shots behind the leader JJ Spaun. After the penalty, he started the final round 4 strokes behind him.

Rule 14.7 of the Rules of Golf states: “When a player’s ball comes to rest in an area where play is not permitted, the player must take relief under the appropriate Rule. In stroke play, if the player plays the ball from that area (such as no playing zone or wrong green) the player receives two penalty strokes for each stroke made from that area.”

Smith hit his tee shot onto the green, but it bounced left into an adjacent pond. Smith took the duration of relief from two clubs. On his drop, his ball rolled back toward the water and settled with part of it on the red penalty line. He played his third shot from there and almost chipped his ball into the hole.

Gary Young, the head umpire for the PGA Tour, said they noticed Smith’s ball was very close to the penalty line during practice on Saturday. Young spoke to the rules official who was on the fourth hole, but he was not called by Smith for a ruling.

“It looked like his ball was awfully close to the line, but we felt comfortable that the player knew enough that he wasn’t going to play a ball that touched the line of the penalty area,” Young said during an interview with NBC Sports on Sunday .

Another member of the tour’s rules committee expressed concern about Smith’s fall after watching a replay of the third round, according to Young. Young said Smith’s ball was close enough to the line “that we decided we should probably talk to the player himself.”

When Young asked Smith about the situation Sunday morning, Smith said, “Yeah, my ball definitely touched the line.”

“He didn’t realize that no part of the ball could touch the penalty line,” Young said. “He thought that if part of the ball was in the general area of ​​the course, he was safe to play it.”

Young said Smith took the news as “a complete gentleman” and said, “The rules are the rules.”

With Scottie Scheffler missing the cut in Memphis, Smith would move to number 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking with a win in the FedEx St. Jude Championship, the first leg of the FedEx Cup playoffs.

On Tuesday, the Telegraph of London reported that Smith is set to become the highest-ranked player to join the Saudi-backed LIV Golf League. He will reportedly receive a signing bonus worth more than $100 million and debut in the upcoming LIV event in Boston, scheduled for September 2-4.

Smith dodged questions from reporters about the report.

“I’m a man of my word and whenever you need to know something, it’s going to be told by me,” Smith said Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.