Alexia Putellas and Karim Benzema to be crowned 2022 Ballon d’Or winners – The Guardian

Alexia Putellas and Karim Benzema have been named the 2022 Ballon d’Or winners at the annual football awards ceremony in Paris.

Putellas retains her title as the world’s best women’s player after leading Barcelona to another Spanish title, scoring 18 goals in the process. Barça won all 30 of their league games and also won the Spanish Cup and Super Cup, but lost the Women’s Champions League final to Lyon and she missed the Euros after suffering an ACL injury.

“I’m very happy to be back here,” Putellas said. “Winning last year pushed me to want to be even better. Without my teammates, this would not have been possible. I want to thank the coaches and technical staff who help me improve every day.”

Benzema won the men’s award for the first time after leading Real Madrid to the Spanish title and their 14th European Cup. The 34-year-old scored 27 goals in La Liga and was also the top scorer in the Champions League with 15. Ten of those goals came in the knockout stages, including hat-tricks against Paris Saint-Germain and Chelsea. He is the first French winner of the award since Zinedine Zidane in 1998.

After receiving a huge ovation from the crowd, Benzema said: “This award in front of me makes me really proud. I never gave up, it was a childhood dream. It was a difficult period where I was not in the French team, but I continued to work hard. I kept in my head this joy of playing football; I am really proud of my journey here.”

The president of France, Emmanuel Macron, tweeted “KB9!” with a French flag after the result. Macron then posted a second tweet, which read: “Two letters and a number that will go down in football history. Twenty-four years after Zidane, Karim Benzema brings a new Ballon d’Or to France. Congratulations to him!”

Quick Guide

Men’s Ballon d’Or 2022: the full list


1 Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)
2 Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Bayern, Senegal)
3 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
4 Robert Lewandowski (Bavaria/Barcelona, ​​Poland)
5 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)
6 Kylian Mbappe (PSG, France)
7 Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
8 Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil)
9 Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
10 Erling Haaland (Dortmund/Man City, Norway)

11 Son Heung-min (Tottenham, Cor.)
12 Riyad Mahrez (Man City, Alg)
13 Sebastien Haller (Ajax/Dortmund, Civ)
14= Fabinho (Liverpool, Bra), Rafael Leão (Milan, From)
16 Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, Neth)
17= casemir (Real/Man Utd, Good); Louis Diaz (Porto/Liverpool, Col); Dusan Vlahovic (Fiorentina/Juventus, Ser)
20 Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd, For)

21 Harry Kane (Tottenham, England)
22= Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool, England); Phil Foden (Man City, Eng); Bernard Silva (Man City, For)
25= João Cancelo (Man City, For); Joshua Kimmich (Bavaria, Ger); Mike Maignan (Milan, Fri); Darwin Nunez (Benfica/Liverpool, Uru); Christopher Nkunku (Leipzig, Fri); Antonio Ruediger (Chelsea/Real, Ger).

Thank you for your comment.

Beth Mead finished second in the women’s vote after helping England to glory at Euro 2022. The Arsenal forward scored six goals and added five assists to win the tournament’s golden boot and best player awards.

Australia and Chelsea forward Sam Kerr came third, ahead of Germany and Wolfsburg midfielder Lena Oberdorf. Spain and Barça teammate of Putellas Aitana Bonmatí completed the top five.

Sadio Mané, who left Liverpool for Bayern Munich this summer, came second in the men’s vote and won the Socrates award for his charity work in Senegal. Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne finished third, his highest place to date ahead of Robert Lewandowski and Mohamed Salah.

Sadio Mané receives the Socrates award from the brother of the late Brazilian, Rai.
Sadio Mané receives the Socrates award from the brother of the late Brazilian, Rai. Photo: Benoit Tessier/Reuters

Lewandowski, who joined Barcelona from Bayern Munich this summer, came fourth in the men’s rankings and also won the Gerd Müller trophy for the world’s best forward. “I want to thank my teammates from Bayern and Barça, because I know how hard we have to work to score the goals,” he said.

Salah placed fifth, with PSG forward Kylian Mbappé in sixth. Thibaut Courtois won the Lev Yashin trophy for the world’s best goalkeeper and placed seventh overall, with his Real Madrid teammates Vinícius Júnior and Luka Modric in eighth and ninth. Erling Haaland (10th) finished in the top 10 for the first time.

Quick Guide

Women’s Ballon d’Or 2022: the full list


1 Alexia Putellas (Barcelona, ​​Spain)
2 Beth Mead (Arsenal, England)
3 Sam Kerr (Chelsea, Australia)
4 Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg, Germany)
5 Aitana Bonmatí (Barcelona, ​​SP)
6 Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg, Germany)
7 Ada Hegerberg (Lyon, Norway)
8 Wendie Renard (Lyon, France)
9 Catarina Macario (Lyon, USA)
10 Lucy Bronze (Man City/Barça, Eng)

11 Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal, Netherlands)
12 Christiane Endler (Lyon, Chile)
13 Alex Morgan (Orlando/San Diego, USA)
14 Selma Bacha (Lyon, FR)
15 Millie Bright (Chelsea, Eng)
16 Marie-Antoinette Katoto (PSG, Fr)
17 Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona, ​​Nga)
18 Trinity Rodman (Washington, USA)
19 Fridolina Rolfö (Barcelona, ​​Sweden)
20 Kadidiatou Diani (PSG, Fr)

Thank you for your comment.

Spain and Barcelona midfielder Gavi won the Kopa trophy for the best men’s under-21 player, following the success of his team-mate Pedri last season. Manchester City have been named club of the year after Pep Guardiola’s side won their fourth Premier League title in five seasons.

Changes to the format of the awards, which are organized by France Football magazine, meant that for the first time, performances were assessed across the 2021-22 season rather than the calendar year. The men’s jury was also reduced from 170 to 100, with 50 judges for the women’s award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *