WATCH: Referee Christina Unkel breaks down controversial VAR calls on Spurs’ Harry Kane, Leverkusen handball – CBS Sports

WATCH: Referee Christina Unkel breaks down controversial VAR calls on Spurs' Harry Kane, Leverkusen handball - CBS Sports

Tottenham and Atletico Madrid failed to qualify for the knockout stages of the Champions League on Wednesday after matchday 5 matches that were filled with late drama and VAR involvement. Tottenham drew Sporting Lisbon 1-1 in London, and Spurs will have their last chance to get through to matchday 6 against Olympique Marseille. Atletico Madrid are now officially out of Europe’s top competition with their 2-2 draw at home to Bayer Leverkusen.

But what exactly happened? Let’s take a look:

Harry Kane was ruled offside by a hair

An incredible end to the match between Tottenham Spurs and Sporting CP with the home team, which was so close to qualifying for the round of 16 with a goal scored by Kane. Antonio Conte’s side went down 1-0 in the first half with the goal scored by Marcus Edwards and then equalized in the second half with a header from former Juventus midfielder Rodrigo Bentancur. Spurs pushed to score the winning goal until the end and did it in the last minute with Kane from close range, but the VAR called it offside despite appearing to be on.

Check out:

CBS football rules expert Christina Unkel explained the confusion on the postgame show, citing why it was called that.

“Now we have the semi-automated offside technology, so they immediately track the line as soon as he touched the ball,” she said. “They trace the line where the ball is. Once there is the touch of the player, that’s where we draw the line and it’s important to have the right frame, because one or two frames in advance, he’s onside.”

What looked like a Tottenham win in the final seconds was not meant to be.

Here is the video breakdown:

Atlético Madrid were awarded a penalty which they would not convert

Something even more surprising was what happened in the last minute of the match at the Wanda Metropolitano. After the referee whistled the end of the match between Atletico Madrid and Bayer Leverkusen, the VAR recalled the referee to look for a possible penalty for handball.

Check out:

Unkel said that in this case, “the application of the rule is very strict. These are UEFA referees and now they will receive FIFA interpretations, where the handballs are also very strict. Here we are talking about the first handball touch, not the second. , where the arm is extended and the hand touched. The second is natural, while the first is what we call a deliberate handling offense.”

When it came to the fact that the referee let them even try a rebound when it was technically over, Unkel explained that “as soon as the kick is taken we are talking about extending the time and that game must be completed.”

Atleti had three slots at it, but all they got was a seat to watch the knockout stages from home.

Here’s the breakdown:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *